The Noble Eightfold Path

Duration 28:19

The heart of the Buddhist teachings can be found in practicing the Noble Eightfold Path. It is a guide for us to follow if we want to walk the path of awakening and enlightenment. It consists of eight trainings that can be summarized into three parts: the training of wisdom, morality and meditation. It is a holistic practice in that all the eight trainings are interrelated and each is as important as the other. The Noble Eightfold Path involves the practice of Right View, Right Intention, Right Speech, Right Action, Right Livelihood, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness and Right Concentration.

Buddhism is often referred to as a philosophy or a way of life. In this video I explain how the Noble Eightfold Path can be integrated into our lives to help us lead a happier life that incorporates the Buddhist principles of peace, compassion and wisdom.
Suttas used in this video:

“Going for Refuge & Taking the Precepts”, by Bhikkhu Bodhi. Access to Insight, 1 December 2012,

“Brahmanavagga: The Holy Man” (Dhp XXVI), translated from the Pali by Acharya Buddharakkhita. Access to Insight, 23 April 2012,

“Vanijja Sutta: Business (Wrong Livelihood)” (AN 5.177), translated from the Pali by Thanissaro Bhikkhu. Access to Insight, 3 July 2010,
Related Videos:

How to Practice Right Speech

How to Change Your Thinking and Your Life: The Four Great Efforts (Right Effort)

Right Mindfulness: Practical Benefits and Its Relationship with Concentration
Recommended Reading:

An easy reference guide of the Noble Eightfold Path

Jack Kornfield’s The Eightfold Path for the Householder

Bhikkhu Bodhi’s The Noble Eightfold Path – The Way to the End of Suffering